Food Truck Favorites

There are a lot of awesome things about Minneapolis in the summer. Food trucks are definitely one of them.

I put food trucks and taprooms in the same category: they’re both AWESOME and delicious, and recently seemed to appear out of no where, then explode in popularity.

I’m lucky enough to work in Downtown Minneapolis, where there’s constantly a different collection of trucks just steps from my office. It’s dangerous and delicious.

Between lunch break visits and food truck festivals, I’ve created a list of some of my favorites.

World Street Kitchen:

I’ve never been to WSK’s physical restaurant in South Minneapolis, but if it’s anything like the delicious eats their food truck serves up, I should add it to my list. Their “yum yum” bowls are filling and accurately named.

IMG_7290IMG_7292World Street Kitchen

Butcher Salt:

Their chicken quesadilla is anything but boring. It’s got a great flavor, and is served with a seasoned sour cream dip. What could be bad about that?

IMG_7573 2

Hibachi Daruma:

If you like the taste of hibachi food, but hate having to watch someone make a smiley face out of an onion or shout saki in your mouth, Hibachi Daruma is the food truck for you. I ordered the Beef Teriyaki, and was not disappointed. It also came with fried rice and some yummy grilled vegetables. The best part? The shrimp dipping sauce. It added a lot of extra flavor to the meat and veggies. Look, Bennett couldn’t stop eating

IMG_7570 2IMG_7566 2IMG_7567 2

The MidNord Empanada Truck:

If you’re a fan of a traditional empanada (chick, beef, or juicy slow roasted pork), or one with a unique twist (like the Mac Attack, filled with macaroni), MidNord is a great lunch spot. Each empanada is sold seperately, so you can mix and match. Two is usually enough food for me.

IMG_7574 2

Get Sauced

The Tinga Bowl is like a Chipotle burrito bowl, but 10x better (bet you didn’t even think that was possible!). Add the spicy green sauce on the side for a delicious, sinus-clearing flavor. Trust me, the photo doesn’t do it justice.

FullSizeRender (1) FullSizeRender

Do you have a favorite food truck that I’m missing? I’d love to hear your suggestions!


Leave a comment