No Future in the Past

“There will be few times in your life when all your instincts will tell you to do something, something that defies logic, upsets your plans, and may seem crazy to others. When that happens, you do it. Listen to your instincts and ignore everything else. Ignore logic, ignore the odds, ignore the complications and just go for it.”

I don’t even if anyone still reads this, but I’m going to write anyway.

I’m finally starting to realize that in every aspect of my life, there is no future in the past and no reason for my mind and heart to still live there.

I miss Spain every single day, but I also feel incredibly blessed every single day to have had an experience that so profoundly changed me and the course of my life, for all the right reasons.

Life back in Minnesota hasn’t always been easy. There are many times when it’s just easier to drift off into a dream world where I’m still on a carefree European adventure and just cry about it rather than facing my current obstacles.

It’s funny and scary to think what my life would be like if I didn’t study abroad last fall. I would have different roommates, different friends, a different boyfriend, and probably a different job. Would I have the same outlook on life? Would the horrible summer I left behind have continued into fall? So much would be different, and I’m so thankful it’s not.

The best decision at the best time. Thank you, past Allison. You did good. 

Leave a Reply

